• The University Interscholastic League offers the most comprehensive program of academic competition in the nation. UIL Academics offers more activities than any other UIL division, with 29 contests at the high school level and 20 A+ Academic contests for grades 2-8. More than half a million students participate in UIL academic contests each year.

    These activities, which exist to complement the academic curriculum, are designed to motivate students as they acquire higher levels of knowledge, to challenge students to confront issues of importance, and to provide students with the opportunity to demonstrate mastery of specific skills. Students are challenged to think critically and creatively, exhibiting much more than knowledge and comprehension.

    Please contact the sponsors directly for more information on the event you're interested in. 

2018-2019 UIL events

UIL Event Grade Sponsor Sponsor's Email
Storytelling 2nd & 3rd Katlyn Rateau krateau@bisdtx.org
Oral Reading 4th Katlyn Rateau krateau@bisdtx.org
Creative Writing 2nd & 3rd Julie Barron jbarron@bisdtx.org
Ready Writing 3rd & 4th Julie Barron jbarron@bisdtx.org
Music Memory 2nd, 3rd, 4th Melissa Weidemann mweidemann@bisdtx.org
Chess Puzzles 2nd, 3rd, 4th Peggy Perkins pperkins@bisdtx.org
Spelling 3rd & 4th Sara Franco sfranco@bisdtx.org
Number Sense 4th Laura Carder lcarder@bisdtx.org
Picture Memory/Art History 4th Suzie Hoffman shoffman@bisdtx.org

Campus UIL Coordinator