Return to Headlines

TASC Recognizes Terry Hamm with Texas Star Award

Terry Hamm, Cedar Creek High School (CCHS) Counselor and Hamm immediate past Director of the Texas Association of Student Councils (TASC), was given the Texas Star Award at the Annual Advisors Workshop in San Marcos, this past September. The award is presented to Board directive to advisors, staff, or alumni who have given exceptional service or brought exceptional recognition to TASC. They are the heroes and legends of the Texas Association of Student Councils.


“Being recognized by TASC is extremely special to me, but it does not surpass the joy of the experience of seeing exceptional young people grow and succeed. My why is helping others achieve more than they ever knew they could, and involvement with student council allowed me to do that,” Hamm said.


Hamm served as the TASC Director from September 2011 until September 2022. Prior to that, she was a student council advisor, a student council leadership workshop consultant, and the Curriculum Consultant for TASC. Hamm also served as a national leadership workshop director at camps in New York, Maine, and Nevada. She was named the TASC State Advisor of the Year, the national Region 8 Student Council Advisor of the Year, and was given the national Earl Reum Award for work with advisors. During her tenure at TASC, she served as the president of the National Association of State Student Council Executive Directors.


“I always saw my work with student leadership and TASC as more of a calling than work. It was a joy to work with the students and with the advisors who chose to spend untold hours outside the classroom to benefit their students,” she added. 


Prior to her tenure at TASC, Hamm was the Lead Counselor at Bastrop High School (BHS) where she also served as the Student Council Advisor, the advisor for Senior Mentors, the Student Activities Co­ Coordinator, and taught a Student Leadership class. Following her retirement from TASC, she has worked as a part-time counselor at Mina Elementary and CCHS.